Mayor Hope Magee Jones of the City of Collins has been appointed to the Mississippi Municipal League’s 2021- 2022 Legislative Committee by MML President Mayor Errick D. Simmons of Greenville.

The 25 member committee is led by Legislative Chairman Alderwoman-at-Large Ricki Garrett of Clinton. In addition to participating in regular briefings during the session, committee members will be actively involved in visiting with legislators by phone and in person to lobby for important bills that will benefit municipalities.

“The role of the MML Legislative Committee is to provide guidance to the League staff in the development and promotion of our legislative agenda. I am honored that Mayor Simmons has the confidence to appoint me to this position and I am very appreciative to the MML members who have agreed to serve with me” Alderwoman Garrett said.

“I am pleased to be able to serve the League in this capacity and will work hard to help MML pass favorable legislation that will help not only the City of Collins but every municipality across the state” said Mayor Hope Magee Jones.

The mission of the Mississippi Municipal League is helping cities and towns excel. MML is a non-partisan association established in 1931, representing 290 city, town and village governments in Mississippi. MML is also affiliated with the National League of Cities, a lobbying, legislative and legal arm representing municipalities before the U.S. Congress. For more information about the Mississippi Municipal League, visit